Breakfast · Dairy-Free · Dinners · Gluten-Free · Vegan · Vegetarian

Vegan Black Bean Taquitos

Although I was excited to share Bronson’s breakfast taquito recipe a while back, I also felt pretty weird about it, considering that my blog post immediately before that had been about switching to a plant-based diet, and eggs obviously aren’t plants. I had a long and stubborn debate with myself about posting it, and in the end, I decided that it was still an awesome recipe that I just wanted to share with everyone.

But, the recipe kept nagging at me in that awful, disappointed parental tone, “I know you can do better….”

So, I stewed on it for a while and let the gears in my head spin over what I should do to make a fully vegan taquito. Turned out, the only change I needed to make – black beans instead of eggs. Bam! Tada! Vegan taquitos!

I drained and rinsed a can of black beans and went to town on smooshing them. I squashed the beans with my hands until they were a big, thick paste – I left some beans whole-ish for texture – and poured in just a little vegetable broth. Then, I added the same fillings as the original breakfast taquitos, like sauteed peppers and onion, Daiya cheese and spices. 

I warmed corn tortillas in a large frying pan so that they would be easier to roll without ripping and seal nicely. I deposited a spoonful of the black bean mash onto the edge of each tortilla and then rolled it in on itself, as shown in the handy-dandy video below from the original recipe. As I rolled each taquito, I placed it in a baking dish to put into the freezer later.

Once all of the black bean taquitos were rolled, I placed the baking dish into the freezer for 15-20 minutes to help the tortillas seal. While they were chilling, I poured some olive oil onto a large baking tray and preheated my oven to 375.When the taquitos were ready, I pulled each one from the dish and gently rolled it through the oil to coat it, and then lined them all up in two rows. I placed the tray into the oven and baked it for 10-12 minutes. If your oven is old and shitty like mine, you might want to broil the taquitos for a minute so that they get that pretty, golden-brown color.

Same as in the original recipe, I couldn’t wait long enough for these too cool before eating one. These vegan taquitos were amazing! The black bean filling was so moist and spicy inside the toasty tortilla, and the flavor of the veggies came through perfectly.

Bronson and I both agreed that my taquito recipe better than his – HA! And now, I can proudly share this VEGAN taquito recipe with the world and be one dish closer to a fully plant-based diet!

Recipe for Black Bean Taquitos
* Recipe updated 5/31/17 – works better with white corn tortillas, and better yields 12-14 fat taquitos

2 cans black beans, drained, rinsed and dried
1/4 cup vegan broth
1/2 red pepper, small diced
1 small onion, small diced
1 jalapeno pepper, minced
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. cumin
1/8 tsp. powdered garlic
1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper
12-14 white corn tortillas
1 tblsp. olive oil, for sauteing veggies
3 tblsp. olive oil, for baking taquitos

Saute’ the peppers and onion with salt and pepper in a frying pan until softened. Smash black beans with hands or fork in a large bowl, then add the veggies, broth, cheese and spices. Wipe out the frying pan with a towel and warm tortillas for 1-2 minutes on each side – turn them over once the bottom side starts steaming. Drop spoonfuls of black bean mix onto the edge of one tortilla and gently roll inwards. Place the rolled taquitos into a large baking dish and freeze for 15-20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Pour 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil onto a large baking sheet  and spread evenly. Remove taquitos from freezer and roll each one completely in oil. Line taquitos into 2 rows and bake for 10-12 minutes. If needed to get that gorgeous, golden color, broil taquitos for an extra 1-2 minutes. Enjoy with hot salsa and fresh guac!

Leave a Reply

